East Bay: Alameda Point Antiques Faire

wpid-cymera_20140706_164315.jpg Quick post:My family will know this: I am a (mild?) hoarder. It’s not like I love clutter or containers and cardboard boxes, but you’ll never know when they’ll be handy. Maybe I watched too much Art Attack as a kid, so I think cardboard is awesome and should not be thrown away. Ever. I also love digging for treasure and antiques. wpid-cymera_20140706_151400.jpg Behold, the famous Alameda Point Antiques Faire. I was too busy looking at stuff to take more photos, but I’ll just lay out the scale: there were 800 stores. wpid-cymera_20140706_170209.jpg The furniture on sale here are just too awesome, it made me wish I was actually staying in San Francisco for good, so I can buy all the beautiful armoires and chests and china. I was so tempted to buy a tea set. But a sense of practicality told me that it would be impossible to transport all that back. (sad face) wpid-cymera_20140706_164214.jpg This fair is organized once a month and they claim that everything in there is at least 20 years old. I believe maybe 80% of it, there are definitely newer, ‘vintage-looking’ goods there too. The sheer size of it was kinda overwhelming, I don’t think I covered enough in a day and my feet were so tired after a couple of hours. Plus the sun was crazy! My tan lines are going to be sticking around for a bit. wpid-cymera_20140706_172129.jpg I was just floored by the quality of goods there. The cupboards, boudoirs, mirrors, daybeds, lamps and couches seemed like they were in really good condition. I saw people literally CARTING furniture away and some people even drove trucks in to transport their purchases home. I found myself ogling at some dressing tables and cupboards and suitcases and typewriters and lamps and tea sets and almost everything, thinking I need that in my life, I need that. wpid-cymera_20140706_172241.jpg I don’t think I’ll find anything like that in the motherland. But if you do know if there are amazing fairs and markets like these in Singapore please hit me up because I would love love love to just (window?) shop there. Maybe that’s why I have a certain affinity to Ariel in The Little Mermaid. I see it now. Revelation of the weekend.

❀ Su

Leave a Reply

